Adventure Awaits!

20170611_160829

Monday morning, yet again.  Today I wasn’t greeted with crusty eyes who just can’t open.  Instead, I found myself slammed in the face with anticipation.  I am reminded of how it felt as a child before we took our big family vacation.  The best part is we’re about to take our family vacation.  Even better yet, this fabulous family vacation isn’t to a hotel or resort where you’re halfway pampered and spend a million dollars eating out devouring horrible dietary garbage for the convince.  No, we’re going camping.  The place where every moment is an opportunity to share something I deeply love with my children.  Nature.  I have some grand ideas floating around in my mind of how this week semi roughing it will go, but I’m attempting to keep my expectations on the low.  My only goal is to teach my oldest 2, at the least, how to use a flint and steel to make a fire and some basic wilderness first aid.  To which I hope to the Lord in heaven we never use.

Clay face painting and beading aside I do look forward to getting in some serious movement this week.  I find it unfortunate that there will be no internet to pass along my miles to CharityMiles and none of it will even count for anything other than my own personal gain, but I’m glad for it none the less.  Let me not forget to pack the sunscreen…

And the Aloe for when it doesn’t work.

My recap of the week isn’t grand in my eyes.  I managed to take my youngest two on a few biking adventures to which I rekindled my love for it once again.  I believe the remaining days of our summer and into the fall weekends we will continue to explore that as a family option for exercise and time spent together.  I pushed myself a little to hard, though.  I neglected to pay attention to what I was eating and didn’t consume quite enough.  This led to me feeling very ill for the latter part of my days.  Once I finally realized my mistake I worked hard on rectifying the problem.  I can say I fully enjoyed my ice cream and cookie binge day.  I had been holding onto too much and was weighing in higher than I should be.  Pleased I can say that the scale, even with some residual water retention, has left me sitting at 139lbs.

Pang the gong.  Ring the bells.  Shout it from the roof tops.  I finally weigh, when not retaining water, under 140lbs!  Getting to this point has been one of the hardest struggles I’ve faced during this process.  Many days and weeks have haunted me with whispers of “You’re done loosing.  It isn’t going to happen.  You’re stuck, face it, forget it, and move on from it.  Just quit now, you look good enough if you tell people you have 4 kids.” etc.  I stuck to it, though.  I realize in retrospect that a portion of my seemingly stall-out period was a reallocation of fat to muscle.  I can run faster and go longer than I could a month ago.  For that, I am immensely proud of myself and can see the fruit even if it isn’t on the scale.  On top of that I was forced to buy a new pair of jeans a size smaller.  A blessing for my goals and a curse for my wallet.

Here is to continuing to strive forward towards my goals of better health and fitness.  Even when the rough times come, I’m ready to leap the hurdles.  I’m currently looking towards a 4 mile run I’m still hoping to find a sponser for, and who knows what every adventures await the coming days.  I know for certain, I won’t stop moving.

…and as always, thanks for dropping by and taking a read! If you like what you’ve seen don’t forget to visit, like, follow, and share The Sedentary Momma on Facebook, Twitter, Pintrest, & here on WordPress!

Until next time, be blessed!

The Sedentary Momma

Leave a Reply

